Monday 29 August 2016

‘My China!’

(Update: information added about WMC2010 photo album)

UTRECHT - The Award Ceremony of the World Mahjong Championship was a festive event - the tasteful dessert of a great three-day banquet for 208 mahjong players from all over the world. Marianne Croeze of the organizing committee was the presenting lady of this worthy closing of the championship.

The trophies for the number one, two and three players were handed over by burgomaster Mr. Aleid Wolfsen of the city of Utrecht, whilst Jeroen Meijer of the organizing commitee took care of the distribution of the trophies for the best countries.

Before this formal part, the audience watch a slideshow of pictures made during the WMC by its formal photographer, Hans Guldemond. The players greatly appreciated the show. (The photo album of the WMC can be ordered by following this link.)

After the trophy distribution, there was a surprising 'Grand Final' when Linghu Jiao, the new world champion, performed two songs. Especially her interpretation of ‘My China’ was a large success.

 WMC2010229 The glittering prizes: for the best three teams, the top-ten players and for the highest score in one round.
 WMC2010251 The audience during the Award Ceremony of the WMC2010 in the National Mind Sports Center at Utrecht.
 WMC2010258 The referee team, from left: Norbert Zsamboki (Hungary), Takunori Kajimoto (Japan), Axel Eschenburg (Germany), Anders Labich (Denmark), Robert Rijnders (Holland), Lionel Legaie (France),  Norbert Luckhardt (Germany).
 WMC2010269 On behalf of the organizing committee, Chris Janssen (left) hands over a symbolic €1,250 check to the Colombine House, which was sponsored by the WMC2010.
President Marco Foschi of the Italian Mahjong Federation proudly shows the Mahjong News prize for the player with the highest score in one session. The prize was handed over by Martin Rep of Mahjong News to Mr. Foschi, since Luca Gavelli, the winner of the prize, could not be present at the Award Ceremony.
 WMC2010297 Jeroen Meijer, chairman of the organizing committee, congratulates the leader of the Chinese team with the first prize in the country classification.
 WMC2010313 The players 10~4, from left: Moa Henriët (Sweden), Bingcheng Zhang (China), Nadine König (Germany), Lifang Tong (China),  EMA-president Robert Rijnders, Jianguo Liang (China), Jesper Willemoes Hansen (Denmark) and Huaou Xu (China).
 WMC2010341 Aleid Wolfsen, burgomaster of Utrecht, hands over the trophy for the third prize to Elisabeth Frischenschlager from Austria. Mr. Wolfsen admitted that he does not know much about mahjong.
 WMC2010352 Runner-up Olivier Boivin from France waves the ‘Bleu Blanc Rouge’.
 WMC2010364 World Champion Linghua Jiao from China and burgomaster Aleid Wolfsen of Utrecht.
 WMC2010372 Top-three players with burgomaster Wolfsen.
 WMC2010393 Linghua Jiao sets the Chinese delegation afire when she gives a startling performance of ‘My China’.
Comments (2)Comments are closed
1Thursday, 02 September 2010 21:29
Elisabeth is from Austria not Germany ;-)
2Thursday, 02 September 2010 21:34
Mahjong News
Hi stefan,

You are so right. Of course Elisabeth Frischenschlager is from Austria. I am sorry… Have corrected it.

Martin Rep
yvComment v.2.01.1

Mahjong News | Copyright © 1997-2015 | About Us | Sitemap | Contact